News Detail

Rep. Jim Jordan’s (R-OH) Bid for Speaker Defeated After Two Additional Republicans Oppose His Bid on Second Ballot, Bringing Total Opposing Jordan to Twenty-Two

In a second ballot this afternoon, Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), the Republican nominee for House Speaker, failed to achieve the 217 votes necessary to become Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives. Twenty-two House Republicans voted against Jordan on the second ballot, including: Reps. Bacon (NE), Buchanan (FL), Buck (CO), Chavez-DeRemer (OR), D’Esposito (NY), Diaz-Balart (FL), Ellzey (TX), Feguson (GA), Garbarino (NY), Gimenez (FL), Gonzales (TX), Granger (TX), James (MI), Kelly (PA), Kiggans (VA), LaLota (NY), Lawler (NY), Miller-Meeks (IA), Rutherford (FL), Simpson (ID), Stauber (MN), and Womack (AR).

© 2024 Signatory Wall and Ceiling Contractors Alliance (SWACCA). All rights reserved.